La Belle Vita

June 27, 2009

To Tatay

Filed under: Family Stuff,Uncategorized — by dangas @ 9:54 am

        And so he sailed away last night…

        I heard he was all this strong father who tended his farm (and its not a small piece of land at all)  during his glory years. I don’t have a memory of him doing that. Looking after the many squares of  rice fields in Kamuog. But when Mama told me that during their childhood, sacks of rice from the past harvest were still in their sacks come the another season of harvest time. I pictured Tatay to be this strong man that he was. They are a family of nine so the hard work to put it all together in the farm and raising the family had been really a big thing for him.

        I always see him as a silent family man. He is not the kind of grandfather who plays with grandkids or maybe because I’m a girl so i did not see that haha. But he was always there.  I’m trying to pick up a certain moment in my life that he was clear and I remember one.

        I spent an entire year of my third grade with him and Nanay in the province while the rest of my family was in Manila. I remember every month, we would go to Maasin to withdraw their monthly allowance. I would be sitting in his lap on the way there and back. That’s two hours each way but I never remember he complained.  I always looked forward for this trip as it was one of the few times that I can go out of our town and travel. And of course, they always let me pick up a box of chocolates before heading home.

       I also remember as a toddler, we go to him when our teeth need a pull… Hahaha.. Loose tooth was just a thread and salted water  away.  He would always tell a made up giddy stories to distract and calm our teary and scared little souls then he’d do a quick pull out of nowhere and its done. Haha.

       He spoke very good English. Maybe because of early years with the Americans in the country. But it was not the same in Tagalog. I remember one time when he came in the city, he was so full of praises and amazement when heard a toddler speak Tagalog fluently (as if its not a normal thing!). It always brought good laughs when we talked about it during get togethers.

        He is also good in tracing family roots. When someone comes over in the family home even someone he hasn’t met before, he always asked for family and parents name and from there he’s be able to trace the guest’s folks generations ahead of him/her. Cool memory eh?! I used to laugh when my cousins would court someone and he would asked about the girls backgound. And almost all the time it always end up that the girl is a cousin or a relative many degress away. Hahaha. My cousins would always get amused and irritated when they heard the dont-go-for-that-girl-she-is-a-relative line with the long family tree connection story from him.

       I also remember that he is a Kulafo and Shok Tong (famous alcoholic drinks among old folks)  lover during his younger years. Haha… Cheap fun for him! He also loved to keep himself groomed always. Even when he was sick and bed ridden he would always request for his barber when he feels his hair needed a trim.

      He was also a gracious host and he loved to talk to them. Years back, we used to have relatives coming over from other places and he always made sure that the visitors were feeling comfortable though most of the time the guests are from Nanay’s side of the family. I actually just realized its uncommon that his relatives come over.

      When he spent a few months here last year, we always laugh about how nosy he can be about what time we come home from school and work. He always commented that 9 in the evening is very late. Hahaha.

      So to Tatay… I hope you’re having a good rest now. I’m sure Diabetes had a hard time with you. You fought a good fight. It’s also considerate of you not to go on your daughter’s bday (Mama’s bday today). It would have been hard for her to celebrate her bday in the coming years.  Thank you for that…

      I  will always remember you as a devoted husband. Always worrying and defending Nanay all the time. Even when you are weak yourself, you always made sure she is okay. I will forever see you that way…

     I’m happy that all your kids are with you during your last moments. I thank God for that. May you find your way to Him and keep your cheery self… 

     Bye Tay… Glad that you are now Home 🙂

13 Comments »

  1. hi! kinsa diay ka? tga Nahulid ko but I’m not familiar jud imo. nkabasa ko u mga blogs but wa jud ko idea kinsa ka? hehehe

    Comment by melissa amor — August 21, 2009 @ 9:37 pm |Reply

  2. ah nang amor kaw diay n? hehehe…ug wa ko kita u pics uban wa na jud ko khbw knsa ka…hahaha…

    Comment by isang taga Nahulid :) — August 25, 2009 @ 2:29 pm |Reply

  3. nang amor kaw diay ni? mztah? ug wa ko kita u uba pa jud diay blogs wa ko kaila knsa ka…hehehe…saon tago2x rman gud mi dri check ader websites,,,hehehe…rgards ko tanan ninjo dha. 🙂

    Comment by isang taga Nahulid :) — August 25, 2009 @ 2:31 pm |Reply

  4. Sorry I’m asking – which packages should I fetch from git to have finally only one package depending on hal? Click http://getl.eu/?i=justgoo100745

    Comment by camachosheppard608 — April 10, 2016 @ 7:55 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

